Back to Top


Mounts are broadly defined as either Standard mounts or Special mounts.

Standard Mounts

Standard mounts are any animal that is one size larger than its rider that has been tamed and broken, or otherwise willingly allowed a rider on its back. The classic example of this is a Human (medium) riding a Horse (large), however this could also be a Goblin (small) riding a Wolf (medium). To determine if an animal is mountable check the Codex of Creation – Beasts or Fey Creatures (Fey Beasts only). Standards mounts are identified as common, exotic, and flying mounts.

Anyone can ride Standard Mounts outside of combat, provided the mount is equipped with a proper saddle. If there is no saddle equipped, and the rider has no riding skill whatsoever they must pass an Initiative test any time the mount suddenly changes speed (i.e switching from normal movement to sprinting) or passes over difficult terrain. Failing the test causes the rider to fall off. 

Standard Mounts may only be ridden into combat if the rider has an appropriate rank of  Riding Skill for that type of mount.

Pack animals such as donkeys, mules, oxen, etc… cannot be ridden in combat and generally can’t wear saddles or armor (except for pack saddles)

Centaurs and Kayden cannot ride mounts of any kind.

Rules for Standard Mount Types

  • Riders must maintain control of their mounts at all times (see Controlling Animal Companions) but gain +1 Advantage while mounted
  • All mounts suffer -1 movement while being ridden unless otherwise specified
  • Domestic horses suffer -1 movement without at least Iron Horseshoes
  • Rider & mount are separate targets, however if a rider passes an initiative test they can change the intended target (i.e. rider to mount or vice versa)
  • If rider or mount is victim of a critical hit or in their own turn critically miss they are automatically dismounted
  • Mounting in combat is considered an action and requires a successful initiative test, dismounting requires no test and is only an instant
  • If dismounted due to a critical miss you become Vulnerable as normal and may remount as an action on the next turn
  • If the rider critically missed the mount may still take their turn and vice versa
  • Mounts max carrying capacity (not including small items on saddle) is Strength x 2
  • Mounts without saddles have -5 disadvantage to remount in combat

Mount Leveling

Mounts gain levels using the same experience curve as player characters but are created at the base level specified in the Codex of Creation.

For additional details on mount level ups see: the Codex of Creation – Level Ups

Special Mounts

All special mounts are those that are more than 1 size large than the rider, and typically involve some very elaborate form of saddle or perhaps even a battle platform with capacity for 1 or more riders. Regardless of the Threat rating, control over a Special Mount in combat requires a minimum of lvl5 Riding Skill, if  and in some cases, the mounts permission (i.e. Dragonkin)
-Massive (i.e. Elephant, Stegadon)
-Dragonkin (i.e. Wyrm, Drake, Dragon)